Module 4: Learning Log 3

22 Oct

It is strange to think we’ve reached the end of SLM 509!  Though 8 weeks seems short on paper, it seems like a whirlwind with all that we’ve accomplished in class through the assigned readings, discussion boards, the intensive group project, and our final collaborative project.  One thing I’ll admit now is that at the start of class I did not like the Fontichiaro textbook.  The articles seemed dry and a bit repetitive.  But, by module 2, with the Inquiry focus, I grew to love the readings. Now, by Module 4, I’m sharing them with my colleagues.  The English department got a laugh out of the cave – man notes article, but determined it would be a great analogy to help students take notes from reference and non – fiction sources.

I decided to look back at my first Learning Log for the course.  To paraphrase, I said I wanted to learn more about “true collaboration” and to better incorporate the AASL standards into my teaching.  I think we were all surprised when we read the about the differences in levels of collaboration.  I don’t think I was alone in thinking that what we now know of as “cooperation” and “coordination” were a far cry from “true collaboration”.  After collaborating with my peers in class for the in service, and (trying my hardest) to collaborate with my colleagues at school for the final project, I have determined that true collaboration is an art and a science.  Teachers and librarians must think creatively, take the multiple intelligences and learning/ teaching styles of themselves and their students into account, co – teach, and co -assess.  The process seems daunting, but with time and practice, will yield worthwhile results for learners.

I do feel better equipped to incorporate AASL standards into my teaching.  At the end of September, I joined a new school committee on 21st century learning.  One of my colleagues asked if there were standards that addressed 21st century learning and I was able to speak on how the AASL standards could be used in any content/ grade level to address information fluency, collaboration, questioning skills, and higher order thinking.  Staff members who were not familiar with the AASL standards seemed interested in knowing more!  I feel like introducing other content teachers to the AASL standards can tie our class material together, encouraging students to make connections between what they are learning in all of their classes.

Leave a Reply

