Module 1: Learning Log 2

4 Sep

Prior to doing any of the other readings or assignments for the module, I read through the Fontichiaro text readings.  One reading that struck a cord with me was Betty Marcoux’s “Levels of Collaboration: Where Does Your Work Fit In?” Marcoux created a continuum for teacher, librarian and student use of the library from consumption (students “consume” library resources like reading books, creating photocopies, and typing with no help/ insight/ response from teachers or the librarian) to collaboration (teachers and the librarian jointly plan, implement, and assess the lesson).

I think most of the time that I use the library as a teacher I fit in the cooperation –> coordination stage.  I ready my students for the library with background information and the assignment at hand.  I alert the librarian in advance and discuss some of the outcomes I’d like to see and we work together to come up with research methods and materials.  Usually, she will present these materials to my classes and work with them in using the materials.  I don’t think I’ve ever shared in the assessment of my students with my school’s librarian.

One of our discussion board questions was to evaluate three lessons where school library great Buffy Hamilton collaborated with teachers.  After viewing each of the videos, I had the same inkling as many of my classmates.  First, true collaboration (as described by Marcoux) is really challenging, even for prominent school librarians.  Second, varying degrees of collaboration among teachers and the librarian may be beneficial, depending on the class, the project, and time constraints.

Leave a Reply

